NDACC Annual Steering Committee Meeting Held September 2022

The NDACC Steering Committee held its annual meeting 26-30 September 2022 at the Institute of Complex Systems in Paris, France. The meeting was conducted in a hybrid format because of continuing COVID-19 travel restrictions. The Institut National des Science de l’Univers du CNRS (INSU) graciously hosted the meeting. The agenda covered four full-day sessions, allowing the attendees to discuss a wide variety of topics, including station and data submission status; an update on the Data Host Facility (DHF) at the NASA Langley Research Center; recent updates to the NDACC website; reports from the Working Groups, Cooperating Networks, Ad-Hoc Theme Groups, and projects relevant to NDACC; the recently signed Memorandum of Understanding with WMO GAW; and plans for a special issue in ATM-ACP-ESSD in concert with NDACC’s 35 th anniversary in 2025, including a paper presenting NDACC’s measurement strategies and emphases. In addition, a number of very interesting science talks were presented, including several from colleagues in Paris and Reunion Island (remotely).

Members attending the 2022 NDACC Steering Committee meeting


A number of changes to the NDACC Steering Committee were announced / took place during the meeting. Martine De Mazière, NDACC Co-Chair since 2013, was re-elected to another three-year term through 2025. 

Other Steering Committee updates included the following personnel changes: 

  • Rennie Selkirk [National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA  Headquarters)] joined the Steering Committee as a NASA Peer.
  • Dale Hurst [National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)] announced his plans to retire within the next few months. Ryan Stauffer agreed to serve as interim Water Vapor Sonde Representative until Dale’s successor is named.
  • Susan Strahan [NASA Goddard] announced her plans to retire in March 2023. She nominated Sarah Strode as her Theory and Analysis Working Group Representative successor, and the Steering Committee approved Sarah’s nomination.
  • Brent Holben [NASA Goddard Space Flight Center] retired, and David Giles is the acting lead for AERONET.
  • John Rimmer announced his plans to retire from full-time work before the end of 2022, and he is stepping down as the Chair of EUBREWNET. Alberto Redondas likely will succeed John as Chair of EUBREWNET, and the Co-Chair position is open.
  • Stoyka Netcheva has returned to Environment Canada. The WMO Representative to NDACC position remains open.
  • Chu-Yong Chung took a new position in May 2022, and JeongEun Kim [Korea Meteorological Administration (KMA)] has agreed to succeed him as the Korean Representative.

Sadly, Masato Shiotani passed away on 19 February 2022. He served as the Satellite Working Group Co-Representative from 2015 to 2021, and was a member of International Ozone Commission (IO3C) from July 2008 to September 2016. He also co-hosted the 2019 NDACC Steering Committee meeting in Tsukuba, Japan.  A memorial symposium, attended in person and online by his colleagues and students, was held at the Kyoto University on 13 June 2022. The group held a moment of silence in honor of Masato-san.

On Friday, Martial Haeffelin, Director of the SIRTA Atmospheric Research Observatory, welcomed the group to tour the facility. While there, some of the SIRTA scientists gave talks to introduce us to the work that they are doing.

The hybrid meeting was considered to be a great success, with a significant number of members in attendance – both in person and remotely. The Steering Committee is very grateful to the local organizers and CNRS for their generous and gracious hospitality!

Note: The next NDACC Steering Committee meeting will be held in Murnau, Germany 11-15 September 2023. The meeting will include a visit to the Hohenpeissenberg Observatory. The German Weather Service (DWD) will host the meeting.